Sunday, May 05, 2013

Jewelry in the Merry Month of May!

 Emerald Bracelet photo emerald-bracelet-e7_zpsbe442fd9.jpg

I love the month of May, and not just because it is my birthday and wedding anniversary month; it is the month that the privet and peonies bloom and fill the air with a wonderful aroma.  I'm awakened here in Virginia by the sound of birdsong; azealas and dogwoods are blooming everywhere and the landscape is enhanced with their colors.
   May is the month of emeralds, my birthstone.  I work with beads, so getting to work with emeralds is special since most emeralds are cut into stones for settings.  But sometimes I find emeralds that are worth working with.  I like the faceted nuggets in the emerald bracelet above because they are chunky and they do have a true "emerald" green.  This bracelet is made with 14 karat goldfill although I make lots of emerald jewelry with sterling silver.
   Below is a fun emerald bracelet made with with pretty little emerald charms fashioned from faceted emerald rondelles.  If the emerald is your birthstone, feel blessed!
Emerald Bracelet photo emerald-bracelet-e8_zps344a3a81.jpg

 Handmade Bracelet with Rubies and Apatite photo handmade-bracelet-k9_zps9e8cbcf6.jpg

Rubies and apatite are luscious together.  These big ruby nuggets are perfect to play off the translucent little apatite rondelles. The cabochon ruby in the sterling silver toggle makes this ruby bracelet even more special.

 Fluorite Jewelry photo fluorite-jewelry-b3_zps458e4084.jpg 
Above and below, fluorite is a favorite gemstone of mine because it so often combines purple and green in one single gemstone.  The colors of fluorite are soft and beautiful, and in this case, mixed with sterling silver and little charms of green aventurine.

;Fluorite Jewelry photo fluorite-jewelry-b2_zps7d7f7c4a.jpg

 Coral Bracelet photo coral-bracelet-d8_zps370e781c.jpg

The true season of coral is beginning! Above and below, chunky red coral combines with some of our best artist's lampwork beads and gold vermeil for a fantastic mix!
 Coral Bracelet photo coral-bracelet-d7_zpsaae97b26.jpg

 Turquoise Bracelet photo turquoise-bracelet-e1_zps1f77cb54.jpg
Turquoise pairs with gold in the turquoise bracelet above; the gold is 14 karat goldfill.  Below, turquoise is also a wonderful partner with angelskin pink coral.  Sterling silver and little coral dangles make this a very feminine bracelet.

 Turquoise Coral Jewelry photo turquoise-coral-jewelry-b8_zps0df855dc.jpg

;Drusy Jewelry photo drusy-jewelry-c1_zps8f5ec78c.jpg

Just for fun: a carnelian bracelet, above, gets a kick from a sparkling drusy focal as well as 14 karat goldfill, while below, emeralds around the ankle are beautifully luxurious in this emerald and sterling silver anklet.
Silver Ankle Bracelet photo silver-ankle-bracelet-d3_zps52e4afac.jpg
FREE SHIPPING with any purchase over $50.00; 1.95 flat fee for any purchase under $50.00!

No comments: